Wife and mother: the tense war of love

How my mother met my wife.

It was in 1979 and I had met my future wife in Miami Beach. I had proposed and wanted my mother to meet her. Sounds good so far. I sent her an airline ticket and she was to fly up Friday night, stay until Sunday and during that time I would introduce them.

Well the plan fell through. On Friday I felt a pain in my side, it would turn out to be my appendix. I went upstairs to a doctor friend who lived in my apartment building and he gave me a shot for pain and told me in the morning to go to my doctor for an analysis. I told him I was going to drive to the airport to pick up Alice. He said, “NO WAY” I just gave you a shot of morphine and you will be out in half an hour and you will not be able to drive.

There I was stuck. I could not pick up Alice, I had no way to communicate with her, no cell phones at this time and time was running out.

I called around and a friend of mine, a friend girl, went to the airport to pick Alice up. I left the door open and went to bed. I heard the door open later and barely conscious looked up and saw my future wife come into the bedroom. I then blacked out.

I woke up the next morning and knew I needed to go to the doctor ASAP. Alice drove me and the doctor put me immediately into the hospital to have my appendix removed. It was close to bursting.

So there is my wife. She has the address of my mother and nothing else. She is unfamiliar with New York. She takes a cab to the apartment of my mother and rings the doorbell.

My mother opens the door and states, “Where is my son?”

Alice tells her the hospital and my mother asks, “What did you do to him?”

They never got along after that.

I married Alice and we have been together forty four years, and three children. And that is how my mother met my future wife.

Leave a Reply

