A life of retirement: what a drag!

When I was a young lad working and being in school,

I fantasied being retired and having no worry and nothing to do.

 

No money problems, no issues, no one nagging me to the core,

No problems to confront me, no nay -sayers hanging around.

 

Then I hit thirty, three kids and a wife anchored me in the sea,

I had learned that my penis had a function more than to pee.

 

I worked three jobs to get through those precious years of strife,

Worked from the early morning to the nighttime and cursed my life.

 

At forty I figured I was getting ahead of the game,

Gray hairs started to appear and my mind heard voices, how inane.

 

At fifty I looked forward to retirement and at sixty I tried it for a while,

But the bills kept a coming and the IRS man had a crocodile smile.

 

And then at sixty- five I figured I was done and could sit in the rocker with no care,

Stupid me, bald and toothless, the mind drifting to senility, life is not fair.

 

Now I am seventy- one and back to work, the body needs to move,

The mind needs to be worked, stop and die, stay in the groove.

 

No more thoughts of the rocker, I see it as a place to die,

I seek the tranquility of using the body and mind, as I soar towards the sky.

 

Leave a Reply

