I am becoming Debbie Downer.

I have become Debby Downer. I try to hide in my world and let the outside world remain outside. It cannot touch me. But it is there. I avoid the news. Four channels constantly berating me with news I do not want to hear. The New York Times motto rings in my ears, “We print the news you need to hear” and I just do not want to hear it.

ISIS came out of nowhere and now it is the topic which I need to avoid. We have declared war. Yes, I know it is just an action, but so was Korea and Nam. We lost a hell of a lot of men due to actions. In Korea and Nam it was two places. But ISIS is in many places. Worse of all there could be ISIS agents here in the United States. The Brits are on high alert, The French are waiting, The Australian not immune. The whole world has elements of extremists. We have a coalition that reminds me of World War Two. Pick a side.

In the words of Rodney King, “Can we not all get along?” and the answer my friend is, “Blowing in the Wind.” The answer is NO.

I have seen sixty nine years on this earth. My generation was supposed to make the current generation safe and secure. We have failed. Technology made us more vulnerable. Our weapons are ugly. We have chemicals and gases and promote them on websites. Our movies and television shows show the enemy how and where we are vulnerable. We give the enemy suggestions on where the cracks in our structure are located.

We have grids to gridlock and places where the maps are easily available. Now I have seen the fire and the rain. I have seen days that I thought would never end. But I long for the past.

It was a simple time back then, and now it is complicated.

3 thoughts on “I am becoming Debbie Downer.

  1. Debbie I couldn’t have said it better. 😉 I feel exactly the same way, but then I look around at my inner circle, and I see more than a few things I did right. I have a deep feeling your circle is every bit as wonderful as mine. G-uno

Leave a Reply

