A true little story of a cricket and the end of his life

It was a cricket in a lobby.  A nice lady decided to save its life.

She picked up the creature in her hands and gently too it outside.

She placed it outside.  Then she went back inside and headed for the elevator.  I watched.  She had a smug satisfaction smile on her face.

She had saved a creature.

The crow swooped down out of nowhere.  It promptly ate the cricket.

The woman never knew it happened.  I did not want to tell her the truth.  By doing her action she actually placed the cricket in harm’s way.

Sometimes our actions can be misinterpreted.

2 thoughts on “A true little story of a cricket and the end of his life

  1. Funny how that is, isn’t it? During my morning walks, I’ll encounter snails in my path. Sometimes, I’ll edge one from its route and place it in the grass. But there are so many other morning where I see crushed snails as I keep walking. I always wonder if any of them were those that I save days prior.

Leave a Reply

